
As of 1st October, for tournament play, we’ve implemented a maximum hand size limit of 7 cards. This is a general rule applying to all Hero Decks.
Frequently asked questions
- 01
It means you will still draw the maximum number of cards into your Hand but when you end your turn, you can only hold a maximum of 7 cards in your Hand. This means at the end of their turn, players must move any extra cards beyond 7 cards to the bottom of their Deck till they are holding only 7 cards.
- 02
This rule was implemented to address a few problems players were facing with gameplay.
1) It reduces the attack streak and advantage of decks such as Guy’s Spirit Burst & Lance’s Determination.
2) It creates more opportunities for the defending player to launch a comeback.
3) It reduces the advantage and effect of Draw cards such as Greed, Gluttony, Pride,
4) It increases the Discard impact of Dawn’s Interceptor & Lance’s Counter Punisher.
- 03
-Trigger Verse Cards such as Trick Slice, Trick Strike and True Strike become more effective
-Counter Verse Cards such as Command Parry and Command Guard become more costly to play
-Action & Hero Cards such as Awakening, Throne and Dawn’s Inhibitor become more costly to play
- 04
There are Trigger-Verse cards, Counter-Verse cards, Action Cards which also include Event Cards, Hero Cards and Finishing Verse Cards. Hero Cards can be countered only if the Counter-Verse card explicitly mentions this. Finishing Verse Cards cannot be countered in any circumstance and consume Spirit in the Arena . Even if a Hero Card has a Trigger-Verse, Counter-Verse or Action Card effect, they are treated as Hero Cards and are not affected by cards that affect non-Hero cards.
- 05
It means your opponent did not play a Counter Verse card from their Hand to stop you.
- 06
If you choose not to take any actions (play a Trigger Verse, play an Action card), and end your turn, you may draw one more card from your Deck at the end of your turn before passing the turn over to your opponent.
- 07
If you have no more cards in your Hand, you don’t need to do anything further if your opponent plays a card such as True Strike or Dawn’s Interceptor which forces you to Discards cards.
However, if you take an action that compels you to Discard those cards in your Hand as a pre-condition, you cannot take that action if you do not have sufficient number of cards in hand to Discard.
An example is playing a Counter Verse card from your Hand in response to your opponent playing Trick Slice or Trick Strike. If you do not have at least 2 other cards in your Hand to Discard, you cannot play a Counter Verse from your Hand to stop your opponent.
- 08
If you play against Lance and his ability Counter Punisher compels you to Discard a Card from your Hand in order to play a Counter, you cannot play a Counter Verse if you don’t have at least one additional Card in your Hand to Discard.
- 09
For Counter Verse cards such as Command Parry and Command Guard, if overturned from your Deck, you must be able to pay the Discard cost of 1 card from your Hand to effect the text on those cards (in addition to having sufficient Spirit). If you are unable to Discard, you are unable to play those cards.
- 10
The same rule applies to action cards such as Throne, Awakening & Dawn’s Inhibitor, discarding cards is a pre-condition without which, the action card cannot be played.
- 11
They must Discard 3 cards from their Hand if your opponent chooses to counter you.
- 12
Dawn’s Inhibitor card can be played to stop an opponent from playing their 2nd card in a single turn.
It is not a Hero counter-verse card. Due to this, Dawn’s card can be played against any card in the game including Hero Cards and Finishing Verses.
- 13
Counter-Verse cards have their full text effects applied when they are overturned from Deck as though they were played directly from your Hand unless it is explicitly stated otherwise (E.g. Lance’s Determination).
For example, Parry’s damage value of 1 hurts your opponent even if it was overturned from deck.
However, you will need to have sufficient Spirit to play those cards for those effects to take place. For example, if you have 0 spirit, you cannot play Counter-Parry or Command Parry from your Discard pile.
- 14
No, Hero Cards do not count as Trigger Verse cards.
- 15
Yes, you can only play such cards directly after the pre-requisite card has been played in sequence. You cannot play such cards with a break of another card in between. For example, if you have 3 cards you wish to play, you cannot play in this sequence: Dice & Slice -> Light Slice -> Dash & Slash This is because Light Slice is a 3D card and not a 4D card. You can only play Dash & Slash as follows: Light Slice->Dice & Slice -> Dash & Slash OR
Dice & Slice -> Dash & Slash->Light Slice
- 16
As long as your opponent counters directly from their Hand or overturns from their Deck, you will need to take 2 Damage.
However, if it’s countered from their Hand, an additional effect kicks in for their next Trigger Verse which cannot be countered by you.
- 17
No, Hero Cards do not count as Trigger Verse cards.
- 18
No, Hero Cards do not count as Trigger Verse cards.
However, you can play Aerial Strike as long as you had played a Trigger Verse at any time within the same turn prior to playing this card. It need not be in sequence.
- 19
No, it can only be countered by a Counter-Verse card played directly from your opponent’s hand.
- 20
Yes Omni-Slash can still be played but the irreversible effect will not come into effect. Omni-Slash’s irreversible effect will only come into effect if played immediately after a 4D or greater Non-Hero Trigger Verse.
- 21
It takes effect for all your trigger-verse cards the next time you play a trigger verse card. The effect cannot be applied to Piercing Strike at the same time that Piercing Strike card was first played.
- 22
No, it can only be applied to non-Hero Trigger verse cards.
- 23
No, Team Meeting and All-out Attack can only apply to Non-Hero Trigger Verse cards.
- 24
No, Guy’s Grit and Piercing Strike can only apply to Non-Hero Trigger Verse cards.
- 25
As the outcome of Dice & Slice depends on whether the play is successful, you can play the card even if it is your last Card in Hand. Otherwise, you would be unfairly denied playing the Card even before you know the outcome of whether it would be successful.